My first batch - looks dead..

My first batch - looks dead..

Postby klamb9 » Tue Aug 05, 2014 6:05 pm

I just got my EZ caps which I ordered because I'm a newbie and wanted something real easy. Note - I am making ethanol for shop/lab use, not for drinking.

I made a 2-liter batch using 1 pound of can sugar, and about .5ml of the EX Cap-supplied yeast. I heated the water to 100 degrees to facilitate dissolving of the sugar. I then let it cool to about 85 degrees F, then I added the yeast.

I placed the 2-liter loaded reaction vessel in my garage cause its much warmer than my air-conditioned house. Its around 80-85 degrees.

After 3 days the reaction vessel looks like nothing is happening. Its a little cloudy, but there is no motion, no gasses, no smell.

Am I doing this correctly? Is it working? Did I do something wrong?

pH today is exactly neutral (7).

I tried to upload a picture but it didn't seem to work.

I really need some advice here...

- Keith
Columbus, OH
klamb9

Re: My first batch - looks dead..

Postby ezcaps » Wed Aug 06, 2014 12:41 am

klamb9 wrote:I just got my EZ caps which I ordered because I'm a newbie and wanted something real easy. Note - I am making ethanol for shop/lab use, not for drinking.

I made a 2-liter batch using 1 pound of can sugar, and about .5ml of the EX Cap-supplied yeast. I heated the water to 100 degrees to facilitate dissolving of the sugar. I then let it cool to about 85 degrees F, then I added the yeast.

I placed the 2-liter loaded reaction vessel in my garage cause its much warmer than my air-conditioned house. Its around 80-85 degrees.

After 3 days the reaction vessel looks like nothing is happening. Its a little cloudy, but there is no motion, no gasses, no smell.

Am I doing this correctly? Is it working? Did I do something wrong?

pH today is exactly neutral (7).

I tried to upload a picture but it didn't seem to work.

I really need some advice here...

- Keith
Columbus, OH