Converting Recipes

Share your recipes and ask your beverage specific questions here.

Converting Recipes

Postby mikepellerin » Fri Nov 06, 2015 3:07 am

Sorry if this has been asked before. I'm new to E-Z Caps, and I couldn't find the information on the Forum.

I have an old copy of "First Steps in Winemaking" by C.J.J. Berry that was passed down to me by my Uncle. It's an old 1950s Canadian version. It does have American conversions, but I'd like to know guidelines on how to convert regular brewing recipes to E-Z Caps versions for two liter brews.

Thank you, Mike.
mikepellerin

Re: Converting Recipes

Postby ezcaps » Sat Nov 07, 2015 2:22 am

If you can post an example recipe from the book I'd like to take a stab at the conversion.
ezcaps
Site Admin

Postby mikepellerin » Sat Nov 07, 2015 7:22 pm

Here is a recipe I'd like to convert:

Raspberry Wine

Raspberries 3 lb.
Sugar 2 & 1/2 lb.
Water 1 gallon
Yeast & nutrient

Bring water to a boil and pour it over fruit, then leave it to cool. Mash fruit well, then cover it closely and leave it for four days, stirring daily. Strain through two thick-nesses of muslin on to the sugar, and stir thoroughly to dissolve. Add a good wine yeast and stir well in. Leave for 24 hours, closely covered, in a warm place, the put the liquor into your fermentation vessel, and fit air-lock. Ferment it right out, and when it clears, siphon the wine off the lees into clean bottles.

Thanks, I figured I'd like try this recipe because I love all things raspberry. :D
mikepellerin

Postby ezcaps » Sun Nov 15, 2015 3:07 am

Sorry for the delay in the response. I have made raspberry wine from fresh raspberries before and I was hoping to find my notes. Unfortunately, I did not find them.